Statistically representative study in Schleswig-Holstein into COVID-19 secondary complications

Comorbidity of SARS-CoV-2 infections – impact on health status and quality of life

COVID-19 is a new viral disease that primarily affects the lungs, but during the acute stage already also affects numerous other organ systems, to a variable and as yet unpredictable extent. In light of the multiple organs involved, as well as the severity of the organ damage, it can be expected that significant chronic secondary complications will develop, which represent a significant burden for those affected as well as the healthcare system.

Quantifying secondary complications in a statistically representative manner

In order to be able to develop appropriate prevention and treatment strategies, it is essential to quantify the secondary complications in a manner which is statistically representative of the population. This requires a comprehensive follow-up examination of all those infected in a geographically defined area – in this case, the state of Schleswig-Holstein. To this end, the University Medical Center Schleswig-Holstein (UKSH) is carrying out a study into COVID-19 comorbidity, which is statistically representative of the population. The study will enable a detailed phenotyping of patients and their disease progression, as well as long-term case histories.

Building on many years of experience

As the sole provider of maximum care in the state, the University Medical Center Schleswig-Holstein (UKSH) is excellently positioned for COVIDOM, and together with the universities in Kiel and Lübeck has special expertise in the area of statistically representative cohort studies of patients with chronic diseases, but also of the healthy population in the state of Schleswig-Holstein.

Networking and partners

The COVIDOM comorbidity study is being conducted in close cooperation with the Robert Koch Institute (RKI) and the German Centres for Health Research (DZG), and in particular with the German Center for Pulmonary Research (DZL) and the German Center for Infection Research (DZIF). In addition, there is close coordination and collaboration with the Nationale COVID-19-Forschungsnetzwerk der deutschen Universitätsmedizin (National COVID-19 Research Network of German University Medicine, NaFoUniMed COVID19) initiated by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

More information to follow soon…

An initiative of

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies and our privacy policy.

Eine populationsrepräsentative Studie zu Folgeerkrankungen von COVID-19 in Schleswig-Holstein

Anmeldung zur COVDIOM-Studie

Folgemorbidität von SARS-CoV-2 Infektionen – Auswirkungen auf Gesundheitszustand und Lebensqualität

COVID-19 ist eine neuartige Viruserkrankung, die primär die Lunge betrifft, sich aber bereits im Akutstadium auch auf zahlreiche andere Organsysteme in unterschiedlichem, bisher nicht vorhersehbarem Maß auswirkt. Angesichts der multiplen Organbeteiligung sowie der Schwere der auftretenden Organschäden ist davon auszugehen, dass es zu signifikanten chronischen Folgeschäden kommt, die die Betroffenen und das Gesundheitssystem erheblich belasten.

Folgeerkrankungen populationsrepräsentativ erfassen

Um entsprechende Präventions- und Behandlungsstrategien entwickeln zu können, ist eine möglichst bevölkerungsrepräsentative Erfassung der Folgeerkrankungen erforderlich. Hierzu bedarf es einer flächendeckenden Nachuntersuchung aller Infizierten in einem geographisch umrissenen Gebiet – in diesem Fall Schleswig-Holstein. Zu diesem Zweck führt das Universitätsklinikum Schleswig-Holstein (UKSH) eine populationsrepräsentative COVID-19-Folgemorbiditätsstudie durch. Die Studie wird eine genaue Phänotypisierung der Patientinnen und Patienten und ihrer Krankheitsstadien sowie langfristigen Verläufe ermöglichen.

Aufbauend auf langjähriger Erfahrung

Das Universitätsklinikum Schleswig-Holstein (UKSH) als einziger Maximalversorger des Landes ist für COVIDOM hervorragend aufgestellt und verfügt gemeinsam mit den Universitäten Kiel und Lübeck über eine besondere Expertise im Bereich populationsrepräsentativer Kohortenstudien bei Patienten und Patientinnen mit chronischen Erkrankungen aber auch der gesunden Bevölkerung in Schleswig-Holstein.

Vernetzung und Partner

Die Folgemorbiditätsstudie COVIDOM wird in enger Kooperation mit dem Robert Koch-Institut (RKI) und den Deutschen Zentren für Gesundheitsforschung (DZG) durchgeführt, insbesondere dem Deutschen Zentrum für Lungenforschung (DZL) sowie dem Deutschen Zentrum für Infektionsforschung (DZIF). Darüber hinaus erfolgt eine enge Abstimmung und Anbindung an das vom Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) initiierte Nationale COVID-19-Forschungsnetzwerk der deutschen Universitätsmedizin (NaFoUniMed COVID19).

Weitere Informationen folgen in Kürze…

COVIDOM wird durchgeführt von

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies und unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.